National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)

Have you heard of National Novel Writing Month? Or NaNoWriMo for short? It’s where during the  month of November, you try to write 50,000, yes, that’s correct, 50,000 words in ONE MONTH. To keep you accountable, there is a website with writing buddies – Kim Harrison is mine and currently she’s kicking my butt – so you can see how you’re doing in relation to others. Nothing like a little competition to keep you motivated.

As many of you know I’m working on a book about green smoothies, Wicked Green Smoothies, of which the objective is trying to get most of us to simply eat another serving or two of fruit and veg. Well, what you may not know is that I’m also working on a novel, this one’s fiction, about ghosts. The idea’s been bouncing around in my head for a while. Note: this is a very fun place to live and sometimes I forget there’s a real world out there, but I digress. So, I decided to sign up and declare my intent to reach the 50.000 milestone by the end of November. I figured it would help keep me motivated and maybe feeling a bit competitive. Not to mention, when you speak your intent, the Universe listens and I hope conspires on my behalf. Hey, I can use all the help I can get.

This weekend, I met up with a couple of published writers also taking the challenge and participated in a write-in. A write-in is where you get together and, yep, you guessed it, write. We did a couple of writing sprints which gave me my word count for the day. For me, that’s about 2,000 words. Writing sprints are setting a timer for say 15 – 30 minutes, saying go and everyone writes. When the timer sounds, you tell everyone else your word count. I realize I may get a decent first draft but already know there are many revisions to come as I keep jotting down related notes. But no revisions yet, have to keep going, then come back and revise. On the bright side, being 13,000 words in, I realized I already know what the next three books in the series are about, oh, yes, it’s a series. That came to me pretty quickly. So stay tuned and I’ll follow-up with a status in the next week or so, and again at the end of the month with my final word count.

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)

Leave a Reply

