Wicked Green Smoothie Detox – Day 2

You made it through Day 1 – give yourself a hug! Or if you’re a manly man kind of guy –  maybe just a punch in the shoulder.

Green Vegetables? Dark leafy greens? I don’t think so, yuck!  Yes my friends, I ate salad smothered in dressing, cheese and croutons, on the rare occasion and the closest I ever came to a dark leafy green was walking by them in the grocery store. Heck, I rarely even ate fruit. Oh sure, sporadically I would eat fruit and I like fruit but it seemed like so much work to remember to go to the grocery and get it and then you had to eat it straightaway or it would go bad. If you would have told me then that not only would I eat greens in smoothies but that I would love them and look for other ways to incorporate them into my diet; well, I would have said you were stark raving bloody mad.

Funny thing, getting older. You start to notice maybe your skin doesn’t look quite as perfect as when you come across an old high school yearbook and compare the you then to the you now. Or maybe you just don’t have as much energy, feel tired all the time and have seriously started to think about getting injectables and fillers in the next three to five years. I decided there had to be a way to change all that without going into hock up to my eyeballs with the dermatologist and plastic surgeon. So, I started reading and reading a lot.  There was an article that said you basically renew skin cells every month and I thought, well, if that’s true then I should be able to do something about all this.

I came across green smoothies. I’m speaking to all of you out there like me who subsist on the typical Western diet based on no time and energy just lots and lots of processed food. This is the plan for you. I’m not going to insist you give up meat or become a Vegan or Raw foodie although they have it right.  I simply want you to look and feel the best you can in moderation. Who knows what lies ahead?

Ready for Day 2? Let’s get blending!

Drink at least 8 glasses of water a day. Try and drink 3 cups of green tea as well. It’s good for you.

Breakfast
½ c. blueberries
½ c. nonfat blueberry yogurt
¾ c. cranberry juice
¼ c. orange juice
1/3 of a cucumber (or just a small slice if you’re not sure)

Lunch
½ c. raspberries
½ c. low fat milk (or soy or almond milk)
½ c. nonfat raspberry yogurt
1 tsp. honey
Squirt of fresh lemon juice (optional)
ice if needed to thicken (you won’t need ice if the raspberries are frozen)
2 romaine leaves or a small handful of lettuce

Mid-afternoon snack
1 tbsp. chia seeds

Dinner
1 c. soy milk
1 c. ice
½ banana
1 tbsp. vanilla
1 ½ tbsp. cocoa powder
½ c. vanilla yogurt
small handful of lettuce or one stalk of celery

Go to bed early if possible and know it’s ok to be tired, cranky and feel rotten. Hang in there, it will get better.

Let me know how it’s going.

Leave a Reply

