NaNoWriMo or National Novel Writing Month for those of you unfamiliar

Have you heard of National Novel Writing Month? Or NaNoWriMo for short? It’s where during the  month of November, you try to write 50,000, yes, that’s correct, 50,000 words in ONE MONTH. To keep you accountable, there is a website with writing buddies so you can see how you’re doing in relation to others. Nothing like a little competition to keep oneself motivated.

As many of you know I’m working on a book about green smoothies, Wicked Green Smoothies, of which the objective is trying to get most of us to simply eat another serving or two of fruit and veg. Well, what you may not know is that I’m also working on a novel, this one’s fiction, about ghosts. The idea’s been bouncing around in my head for a while and while I’ve started building the world, I’ve been a bit sidetracked lately.

Note: this is a very fun place to live and sometimes I forget there’s a real world out there, but I digress. So, I decided to sign up and declare my intent to reach the 50.000 milestone by the end of November. I am cheating a bit. To be an official winner, it has to be a brand new work no existing word count. My cheat, is I’m adding the 50,000 words onto the 30 some odd thousand words I already have. Hey whatever it takes to help get this finished, works for me. So I won’t submit for an “official” win – an informal one will do just fine as an additional 50,000 words will allow me to write “the end” – and then start revising, revising, revising..

Anyway, this is going to be the first book in a series so I better get cracking. I figured it would help keep me motivated and maybe feeling a bit competitive. Not to mention, when you speak your intent, the Universe listens and I hope conspires on my behalf.

Hey, I can use all the help I can get.

So stay tuned and I’ll follow-up with a status mid-month, and again at the end of the month with my final word count.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

