Have you tried an e-reader yet?

Do you zip along, merrily reading on your iPad, Kindle, Nook or other e-reader? Maybe you don’t have an e-reader but do have one of the free apps (Kindle has a great free app) on your phone or PC?

I never thought I’d be a fan of e-readers. Typically, I’m lagging behind everyone on technology. It took me forever to get a DVR, longer for a smartphone, and even longer to embrace social media. Now I’m a fan.

I had all of the reasons you can think of for not getting an e-reader – like the way a book feels and smells, the feel of the weight of the book in your hand, who wants to look at a screen,I look at one all day, you can’t take it in the bathtub (you can if you put it in a Ziploc baggie!), and on and on and on.

Then a couple of years ago, I received one as a gift at Christmas. I was slow to convert but now, wow, I love my e-reader. In case you’re wondering, I have a small Kindle.  I always read a lot but now, instant gratification, books at my fingertips, samples to try before buying, free books, library lending, my whole library available to me wherever I go, and so many wonderful new authors to discover.

The biggest plus I see for e-readers/tablets: they’re getting more people to read. In my book that’s absolutely brilliant!

If you’re wondering what to get someone for the holidays or thinking of your own list; I can’t recommend one enough. I am a loyal Amazon fan so the Kindle is at the top of my list although I’ve used the iPad and love it for all the other stuff you can do. So if you want games, movies, apps and internet in addition to reading books – get an iPad – all my friends love theirs.

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

