Orange Watermelon

wmHave you tried an orange watermelon? No it’s not a typo, I meant ‘orange’. Wandering around the farmer’s market the other day I noticed a sign for orange watermelon. I had to ask – “What’s an orange watermelon?”

The vendor gave me a sample and yum! The flesh is the same texture as a red watermelon and the flavor is not quite as sweet with a hint of melon taste. Mine was seedless. I noticed the rind was thicker than a regular watermelon but that’s fine, it composted just fine. Apparently this baby was developed in the 60s. First time I’ve had one and I’m a fan. It also made heavenly sorbet 🙂 I bet it would be good in watermelon gazpacho too. 

If you’ve never had one, try something new. By the way, I’m usually a laggard so if you all have been chomping away on these bad boys let me know how else you use them.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

